Parks & Recreation
Dave Short, Commissioner
F.T. Proctor - Corner of Rutger & Culver
T.R. Proctor - Corner of Culver & Welshbush Road
Roscoe Conkling - Oneida Street & Memorial Parkway
Named for Frederick T. Proctor, this large city park of 500 acres was donated to the city of Utica by the Proctor family in 1923. The famous landscape architect, Frederick Law Olmstead, who designed Central Park in New York City, was instrumental in designing this park. All the usual facilities for activities such as baseball, softball, basketball, soccor, and football are provided. A beautiful new children's play area right next to Culver Avenue is one of the results of a recent facelift begun in 1994. During renovation a pond built in 1909 was discovered and refurbished with help from Langdon Trust. Starch Factory Creek winds along the whole length of the main section of the park through natural riparian vegetation and there are some impressive trees all along. One can enjoy a diversity of walks along various sections of the creek owing to the park's large size.
A second area that is considered part of the park is seperatly located off Valley View Road. This area is located on the south slope of the Mohawk Valley and is almost completely forested. A road meanders through the forest all the way to the top of the slope and provides for an excellent natural experience.